Posts Tagged ‘ALMA 2018’

ALMA Laureate Jacqueline Woodson to Sweden

April 24, 2018

ALMA Laureate Jacqueline Woodson to Sweden

The American author Jacqueline Woodson will visit Stockholm to accept the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award. She will take part in a week of ALMA events from May 22–28, including lectures, school visits, meetings with young people and a trip to Astrid Lindgren’s childhood home in Vimmerby. Her visit will conclude with a ceremony at the Stockholm Concert Hall on May 28, in which H.R.H. Crown Princess Victoria will present her with the award.

Here are some of the events scheduled for ALMA week in Stockholm, May 22–28:

May 22, 6 PM: Jacqueline Woodson lectures in the auditorium of Kulturhuset Stadsteatern.Free admission.

May 23, 9–11 AM: Visit to the teachers, students and school librarian of Hjulsta Elementary in Tensta. Meeting with a representative of Woodson’s Swedish publisher, Natur & Kultur.

May 24, 9–11 AM: Study trip to the Lava Library; meeting with school classes. May 24, 2 PM: Meeting with the Swedish Academy for Children’s Books.

May 25–26:Visits to Astrid Lindgren’s school and Astrid Lindgren’s Näs in Vimmerby.

May 28, 6 PM: Award ceremony at the Stockholm Concert Hall with artist performances and special guests. H.R.H. Crown Princess Victoria will present the award. Minister for Culture and Democracy Alice Bah Kuhnke will give an address.

For interview requests and press credentials for the award ceremony, kindly contact our press officer.
The following times have been reserved for interviews with the laureate:
Tuesday, May 22, 1–3 PM
Wednesday, May 23, 2–3:30 PM
Thursday, May 24, 11 AM–noon

About Jacqueline Woodson
Jacqueline Woodson was born in 1963 and currently lives in Brooklyn. She published her first book in 1990 and has since written more than 30 titles, translated into some ten languages. Her books deal with turning points in young people’s lives and personal relationships in a world of barriers and prejudice. Her most celebrated title is the award-winning memoir Brown Girl Dreaming, to be published in Swedish by Natur & Kultur. Brun flicka drömmer (Swedish title) will be released on May 24 in a translation by Athena Farrokhzad with cover art by Sara R. Acedo. Translations of more books by Woodson are planned.

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) is the world’s largest award for children’s and YA literature and one of Sweden’s foremost literary awards, now in its sixteenth year. The prize amount is five million Swedish kronor, awarded annually to one or more recipients working in the spirit of Astrid Lindgren. The purpose of the prize is to promote interest in children’s and YA literature. Our work is founded in the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child, among which is the right to cultural life and the arts. A jury of experts selects each year’s winner(s) from candidates nominated by institutions and organizations worldwide. The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award was established by the government of Sweden in 2002 and is administered by the Swedish Arts Council.

The world’s largest award for children and young adult literature to be announced on March 27

March 26, 2018

The world’s largest award for children and young adult literature to be announced on March 27

Welcome to cover the 16th announcement of the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA), the world’s largest award for children’s and young adult literature.The Swedish award amounts to approx.EUR 570 000 and is presented annually to a single recipient or to several.

When & Where:
Tuesday March 27 at 12:45pm CEST, Bio Victor/ Filmhuset, Borgvägen 1-4 in Stockholm.

The 2018 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) Laureate will be announced in Stockholm, Sweden on March 27 by Jury Chairman Boel Westin in connection with the jury’s final meeting. Opening speakers are Ulrika Stuart Hamilton, Chair at the Swedish Arts Council, and Alice Bah Kuhnke, Swedish Minister for Culture and Democracy. The announcemnet will be followed by a presentation of the laureate by jury member Katarina Kieri.

Last year’s laureate was the German illustrator Wolf Erlbruch. Previous laureates include Meg Rosoff (2016), Philip Pullman (2005), Kitty Crowther (2010), Barbro Lindgren (2014) and Shaun Tan (2011). For this year’s award, 235 candidates from 60 countries are nominated. The list of candidates is available here.

Footage and images
Press content, along with press releases, will be available on March27th from 13:15 pm CET onwards and throughout the day:

  • Audio recording of the phone call to the laureate
  • Broadcast-quality b-roll of the announcement
  • Soundbites / interviews with the Jury Chairman
  • High-resolution still images of the event
  • In addition: images and video from the Bologna Children’s Book Fair where the announcement will be broadcasted live.
  • Accreditation and interviews
    Please contact Mariella Kucer, Communications Officer +46 8 519 264 17 / +46 76 540 10 17,

    Live broadcast
    We are also able to offer media outlets the opportunity to broadcast the event live on their webpage via an embed codeOR a IP-broadcaster. If interested, please let us know by replying to this email or by contacting us at

    The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) is the world’s largest award for children’s and young adult literature. The award, which amounts to SEK 5 million, is given annually to a single laureate or to several. Authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and reading promoters are eligible. The award is designed to promote interest in children’s and young adult literature. The UN convention of rights of the child is the foundation of our work. An expert jury selects the laureate(s) from candidates nominated by institutions and organisations all over the world. The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award was founded by the Swedish government in 2002 and is administrated by the Swedish Arts Council.

    Previous ALMA laureates:

    2017 Wolf Erlbruch

    2016 Meg Rosoff

    2015 PRAESA

    2014 Barbro Lindgren

    2013 Isol

    2012 Guus Kuijer

    2011 Shaun Tan

    2010 Kitty Crowther

    2009 Tamerinstitutet

    2008 Sonya Hartnett

    2007 Banco del Libro

    2006 Katherine Paterson

    2005 Ryôji Arai & Philip Pullman (shared)

    2004 Lygia Bojunga

    2003 Christine Nöstlinger & Maurice Sendak (shared)