Wolf Erlbruch to Sweden

Wolf Erlbruch to Sweden

The German illustrator and picturebook author Wolf Erlbruch is coming to Sweden to receive the 2017 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) and to give a public lecture. The award is presented by H.R.H. Crown Princess Victoria at a ceremony at the Stockholm Concert Hall on 29 May 2017 attended by Alice Bah Kuhnke, Swedish Minister for Culture and Democracy who is giving a speech in honor of Erlbruch.

The compare is the journalist and literary critic Yukiko Duke:

– Wolf Erlbruch approaches the big life issues with warmth and humour and makes them easy to understand for the youngest readers. He is truly a worthy laureate of the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, the world’s largest literary children’s literature prize. It is a great honor and joy for me to lead the celebration of this wonderful author and illustrator.

On May 23 at 6 pm, Wolf Erlbruch meets the readers in a lecture at Kulturhuset Stadsteatern in Stockholm. The event is open to the public and free of charge. The program for the visit in Sweden also includes meetings with children and young adults at Hjulsta grundskola and the German school in Stockholm as well as a visit to Astrid Lindgren’s childhood home Näs in Vimmerby.

“Oh dear, oh dear” was Erlbruchs’s reaction when Jury Chairman Boel Westin on April 4 informed the German illustrator that he is the laureate of the world’s largest award for children’s and young adult literature. The choice of Wolf Erlbruch has been honored around the world and has had a great deal of media impact in Sweden and abroad.

Wolf Erlbruch, born in 1948, has written some ten books of his own and illustrated nearly fifty titles by other authors. He is best known for his illustrations of The Story of the Little Mole Who Knew It Was None of His Business (1994), which became a great success around the world.

More information on Wolf Erlbruch at www.alma.se/en
For interview requests and information, please contact
Mariella Kucer, Communications officer
Tel: +46 (0)76 540 10 17
E-post: mariella.kucer@alma.se

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) is the world’s largest award for children’s and young adult literature. The award, which amounts to SEK 5 million, is given annually to a single laureate or to several. Authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and reading promoters are eligible. The award is designed to promote interest in children’s and young adult literature. The UN convention of rights of the child is the foundation of our work. An expert jury selects the laureate(s) from candidates nominated by institutions and organisations all over the world. The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award was founded by the Swedish government in 2002 and is administrated by the Swedish Arts Council.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: