“My aim is more children reading more”

On June 4, UK author Malorie Blackman was announced as the next Children’s Laureate. Malorie Blackman has written some 60 books for children and teenagers and has been awarded numerous prizes for her work, but started out as a computer programmer.

As a Children’s Laureate, she will work with reading promotion in the UK for a period of two years. She will be working to make reading ‘irresistible’ for teenagers, encouraging them to explore a range of literature genre and forms, from short stories to graphic novels. She will also be encouraging them to make their own creative responses to books, using a range of expressive mediums, to include music, art, film, drama, animation, poetry, and spoken word. With her technology background, she is passionate about the role that technology plays in making literature come alive for a generation of digitally-aware young people.

At the appointment Malorie Blackman said:

I am honoured to have been chosen as the eighth Children’s Laureate. A love of books has opened so many doors for me. Stories have inspired me and taught me to aspire. I’ve been a professional author for over 20 years, so I feel now is the time to give something back. I hope to instil in every child I meet my love and enthusiasm for reading and stories. And as I would never have become an author if it hadn’t been for my local library as a child, I intend to continue Julia Donaldson’s amazing, indefatigable work advocating for our nation’s public library service.

The Children’s Laureate is awarded once every two years to an eminent writer or illustrator of children’s books to celebrate outstanding achievement in their field. More information about the award here.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

