New Award to Stimulate an Appetite for Reading

Hadia Tajik. Photo: Magnus Fröderberg/

Last week the Nordic Council announced the establishment of a brand new prize for children’s and young adult literature. The prize will be presented for the first time in 2013. “A Nordic prize with a number of other activities will give a focused and visible boost for children’s and young adult’s reading”, stated the Norwegian Minister of Culture, Hadia Tajik.

As seen in the final report from the Swedish Committee on Literature (September 2012), there is an urgent need for strong actions to improve young people’s reading ability and habits.

The Swedish Minister for Culture, Lena Adelsohn Liljeroth, commented that the introduction of a Nordic prize can contribute to more readers of Nordic children’s and young adult literature, both within and outside the Nordic countries.

There are many awards for children’s and young adult literature around the world, both national and international. Below some examples:

Hans Christian Andersen Award (IBBY)

Ovid Prize

The Paris Literary Prize

Deutsche Jugendliteraturpreis 

The Staatsprijs voor kinder- en jeugdliteratuur

The New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Books award

The Guardian Children’s Literature Prize

The Children’s Book Council Book of the Year Award for Younger Readers

IBBY’s ASAHI Reading Promotion Award

IFLA’s Cuust van Wesemael Award

Grand Prix des Jeunes Lecteurs

National Book Award for Children’s Literature

Jabuti Award

Caldecott Medals

Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award


Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: