Fascinating recipients of children’s lit awards announced recently

Frank Cottrell Boyce. Photo: Christopher Thomond for the Guardian.

Last week British author Frank Cottrell Boyce was announced as winner of the Guardian children’s fiction prize with his novel The Unforgotten Coat. The story, written by Cottrell Boyce for charity purpose, is about two refugee brothers from Mongolia who are determined to fit in with their Liverpool schoolmates, but bring so much of Mongolia to Bootle that their new friend and guide, Julie, is hard-pressed to know truth from fantasy. Suddenly the brothers are forced to return to their homeland. The Guardian’s children’s books editor Julia Eccleshare:
– It absolutely captures the feel of being a child of that age. It’s not a big blockbusting novel with obvious themes of dystopia and apocalypse – instead it’s a hear-warming, imaginative, funny story with a very serious message at it´s heart.”

Here’s a clip where Frank Cottrell Boyce actually reads for youngsters on a Liverpool train (!).

Furthermore, author, poet and editor Naomi Shihab Nye has been announced as winner of the NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s Literature for 2012. Naomi Shihab Nye is the sixth recipient of this $25,000 award (among the previous recipient’s author Katherine Paterson, who received the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award in 2006), which is sponsored by the University of Oklahoma and World Literature Today.

Naomi Shihab Nye has received numerous awards, such as from the Texas Institute of Letters, the Charity Randall Prize from the International Poetry Form, and four Pushcart Prizes. She has edited eight anthologies of poems for young readers, and her works include 10 Varieties of Gazelle: Poems of the Middle East, Habibi, You and Yours and A Maze Me: Poems for Girls.

At the announcement, the executive director of World Literature Today, R.C. Davis-Undiano, claimed that:
– With her powerful vision and high-quality poetry, fiction, and young-adult literature, Ms. Nye may be one of the most complete and accomplished writers in the world.

Now we’re looking forward to the announcement of the recipient of publishing house Rabén & Sjogren’s Astrid Lindgren prize in November…

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: