Shaun Tan interview in Guardian

Award Ceremony 2011. Photo: Stefan Tell.

Couldn´t resist to publish clips from Yasim Sulaiman’s interview with 2011 ALMA recipient Shaun Tan last week.

If you were a superhero what would your superpower be?

Teleportation, it would be pretty useful. In Australia, it’s a very handy thing to have.

Is there an idea by another author you wish you’d had?

There’s a lot of ideas I think are great but I’m glad that the other writer had them, because they’re much better at dealing with them. My friend Markus Zusak wrote a story from the point of view of death, The Book Thief. I thought that’s a great idea, where your omniscient narrator is death. I’m glad he had that idea because I wouldn’t have been able to work so well with it. But I think that was a perfect idea waiting for someone to find it, so that’s one example.

What do you do when you’re struggling for ideas?

I go for a very long walk.

What’s the weirdest thing a fan has given or said to you?

It’s not that weird, but a guy once presented me his leg with an area shaved on it and asked me to draw something that he could have tattooed over. He was quite a young guy so I thought this has to be a really good drawing because he’s going to be stuck with it for a long time. I just remember gripping his leg really hard so it wouldn’t move and drawing this little creature. And later on he sent me a jpeg of his freshly tattooed, very sore looking leg with this little creature on it.

Full article available here.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

