Guus Kuijer to receive Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award 2012

Guus Kuijer is an author, born in 1942, who lives and works in the Netherlands. Guus Kuijer made his debut as a children’s author in 1975 and has published over 30 titles, mostly aimed at readers on the cusp of their teenage years. Key works include Het boek van alle dingen (2004, The Book of Everything), Florian Knol (2006) and the series of five books about the girl Polleke, starting with Voor altijd samen, amen (1999, Together Forever, Amen).

His works have been translated into more than 10 languages, including English, Swedish, German, Italian and Japanese.

Guus Kuijer made the following comment about the award after the announcement:

– I’m deeply grateful to receive this award. I hope that it will positively influence the position of children’s literature in the Netherlands and abroad. As for my work I consider “The Book of Everything” the most important.

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award will be presented at a ceremony at the Stockholm Concert Hall on 28 May 2012.

One Response to “Guus Kuijer to receive Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award 2012”

  1. Mike Says:

    Have read The Book of Everything and recommended it to many young and teenage readers. Hoping that this award might see more of Kuijer’s work in English. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: