Congratulations to all the winners of the Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis 2011!

The winners of this year’s Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis (the German Children’s Literature Award) were announced yesterday at the Frankfurt Book Fair during the award ceremony. The Arbetskreis für Jugendliteratur is responsible for awarding the prize, which is Germany’s only state-sponsored prize for works of fiction. It has been awarded annually since 1956 by a jury of literature specialists and critics in four categories: picture books, children’s books, young adult books and non-fiction. In addition, a special annual award for lifetime achievement is given alternately to a German author, German illustrator or German translator. Also, since 2003, an independent young adult jury gives its own award. Please find all the winners and the jury citations at the award website here.

All the winners of Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis 2011, with Chairman of the Jury Dr. Susanne Helene Becker (center), Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media Bernd Neumann (second right) and moderator Marc Langebeck (right).


Moderator Marc Langebeck with Chairman of the Jury Dr. Susanne Helene Becker.


Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: