Seventh time around?

On Monday the winners of this year’s August Prize (Augustpriset) are announced. Five books are nominated for best children’s book of the year, among them Jag tycker inte om vatten by Eva Lindström.

One of Sweden’s most prolific illustrators, Eva Lindström illustrated the diploma presented to Kitty Crowther at this year’s Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award ceremony on June 1st in Stockholm.

Her nomination is far from the first, in fact it’s the seventh time around. This inspired us to take a trip down memory lane and take a look at her seven books that have been nominated in previous years (all of them published by Alfabeta):

Limpan är sugen (1997)

Jag och stig gräver en grop (2000)

Min vän Lage (2001)

Vilma och Mona spanar och smyger  (2004)

Sonja, Boris och tjuven (2007)

I skogen (2008)

Jag tycker inte om vatten (2010)

All of them are wonderfully quirky in the inimitable Eva Lindström style. If forced to select favorites it would have to be Limpan är sugen and I skogen. And Vilma och Mona spanar och smyger. And Sonja Boris och tjuven. And … oh well, just go out and get them all.

Will this year’s Jag tycker inte om vatten be the one that finally makes Eva Lindström the winner of the August Prize? We have no idea. In any case, the true winners are the children and adults alike – who can enjoy all these books (and more) by Eva Lindström.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: