New Hans Christian Andersen Award

JK Rowling, famous author of the Harry Potter-series, is the first recipient of the Hans Christian Andersen Award. This week JK Rowling visited Denmark for the first time to receive the award in Odense, the birth town of HC Andersen.

The prize of 500 000 DK (approx. 60 000 EUR) is given to an author who directly or indirectly can be compared to the Danish author Andersen (1805-1875).

The award shall not be confused with the already existing HC Andersen Award which has been given to authors and illustrators by IBBY since 1956.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: