The nominated candidates for the 2011 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

The list of potential winners of the 2011 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is official. The candidates were revealed at the Frankfurt Book Fair by the Chairman of the Jury, Mr. Larry Lempert.

175 candidates representing 62 different countries are eligible for the world’s largest children’s and young adult literature award. The award, which amounts to SEK 5 million (approx. 500 000 EUR), is awarded annually to a single recipient or to several. Authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and promoters of reading may be rewarded.

The interest in the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is constantly increasing, says Larry Lempert. The Jury has never had as many candidates to evaluate. A daunting task, but one we are very happy to take on.

The 175 candidates have been nominated by expert organisations from all over the world. New countries represented on the list include Malaysia, Lithuania and Georgia.

The complete list of nominees

On March 29 at 13.00 CET, the winner or winners of the 2011 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award will be announced at the birthplace of Astrid Lindgren in Vimmerby, Sweden. The announcement will be held simultaneously at Bologna Book Fair and also be broadcasted live on the award website.

Previous winners are: Kitty Crowther (2010), Tamer institute (2009), Sonya Hartnett (2008), Banco del Libro (2007), Katherine Paterson (2006), Philip Pullman (2005), Ryoji Arai (2005), Lygia Bojunga (2004), Christine Nöstlinger (2003) and Maurice Sendak (2003).

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: